Meet the Crew: Jessica

Who Are We?

The crew at Fleet Feet Sports SF are unique individuals who love to share their enthusiasm of living in the city and helping out the running community of San Francisco.

Today, we talked to Jessica, our Bra Buyer and Apparel Merchandiser who is responsible for organizing all the store’s clothes. She is also currently helping to coach the Nike Women’s Half Marathon Training Group here at the store. She moved to San Francisco just a little over a year ago from Oregon and has fallen in love with the city’s beautiful California landscape ever since!

What is your favorite running spot in the city?

My favorite running route is a 10-miler from my doorstep. It winds through the Sunset, Stern Grove, around Lake Merced, next to the Zoo, and down Great Highway, ending on a trail through Golden Gate Park. It’s simple, never crowded, and so beautiful! (Okay, and pretty flat!)

What shoe are you running in these days?

My current favorite shoe is the New Balance Fresh Foam Zante. It is everything I want a running shoe to be: light, quick, fits my foot well, and looks cool, too. It has a pretty fitted arch that supports my foot better than a lot of shoes in the neutral, lightweight category.

IMG_1826

Are you training for any races at the moment?

I am currently training for the Nike Women’s Half Marathon, and am helping coach a great group of women achieve their goals with that race. Down the line, I have the California International Marathon lined up for December, which will be my fifth marathon.

11411910_10153106161859001_1392439938372968766_o

Jess running the San Francisco Marathon!

What got you interested in running?

I actually started running in middle school to stay in shape for soccer. As I got older, I grew more serious with my running and it became more of a lifestyle rather than a “sport” to me. I also had a pretty awesome high school track coach that I attribute a lot of this change in mindset to.

IMG_1867 (1)

Where’s your favorite place to grub in the city?

Geez that is tough! I place equal value in an overstuffed breakfast burrito as I do with a fancy dinner spot and a view, so for this reason I am going to say I can’t answer. SF offers many great places depending on my mood and hunger status.

IMG_1853

What does a day off of work look like for you?

I love exploring SF on my days off, especially the outdoors. Usually there is always something my friends and I want to do, whether it’s a sunrise bike ride to Hawk’s Hill or laying out at Ocean Beach. And of course there is always food involved, too!!!

Leave a Reply

